Anyone name a tiny jumping spider?

Discuss natural history subjects not strictly related to birds. Reports of interesting mammal, reptile, and invertebrate sightings are welcome.
flossiepip

Anyone name a tiny jumping spider?

Postby flossiepip » Mon Dec 07, 2020 3:26 pm

A week or so ago saw a tiny jumping spider on a wire and batten fence, so small it could easily hide behind the thin wire and not be seen. I had started to give these fences a good looking over when the chance came along as day or night they have a lot of interesting life on them.
But very surprise to see these tiny big eyes looking back at me. On closer examination the little jumper was rather flat and elongated. I am no expert but I have been able to take a few photos now as I have been able to find these spiders every day that I have looked for them and believe I now have adult males, juvenile males and possibly a female. I have measured them and the males are 3mm and the one female that I have found 2 1/2mm. Clearly all the same species, they seem to all have distinctive creamy white palps and noticeable spinnerets. I dont think that I would ever of seen them had they not been on the wire fence, bush and Totara trees were near by.
So if anyone can give it a name that would be great. I have put it up on a few sites with out any luck so it could be one of the many un-described jumpers here in New Zealand.
I will show an adult male, juvenile male and female.
IMG_7326.JPG
IMG_7326.JPG (142.41 KiB) Viewed 2424 times
IMG_7215.JPG
IMG_7215.JPG (142.67 KiB) Viewed 2424 times
IMG_7244.JPG
IMG_7244.JPG (158.35 KiB) Viewed 2424 times
andrewcrossland

Re: Anyone name a tiny jumping spider?

Postby andrewcrossland » Thu Dec 17, 2020 2:56 pm

I-naturalist "seek" says its a "Fencepost Jumping Spider"
flossiepip

Postby flossiepip » Sat Dec 19, 2020 5:52 pm