ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

User avatar
mark ayre
Posts: 159
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 8:31 am
Location: Wanaka
Contact:

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby mark ayre » Fri Apr 02, 2010 5:01 pm

To me it looks like a black fronted dotterel, juvenile perhaps ;)

keep up the good work, enjoy these quizs

Mark
Jan
Posts: 1741
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:43 am
Location: Christchurch

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby Jan » Fri Apr 02, 2010 5:04 pm

Oh dear, chocolate fish time again.

Can I change it to juv Black-fronted Dott. No wonder no bands.
harrier.talon
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 2:28 am

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby harrier.talon » Sun Apr 04, 2010 1:43 am

Black-fronted dotterel

From Andrew Thomas
User avatar
Shane McPherson
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:01 am

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby Shane McPherson » Sun Apr 04, 2010 8:28 am

juvenile Black Fronted Dotterel
Charadrius melanopus
TonyWilson
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby TonyWilson » Sun Apr 04, 2010 6:36 pm

In Thailand for a few weeks so will have to do this one without reference material. Looks like a juvenile Black-fronted Dotterel.
mickramsey
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Aug 23, 2009 8:46 pm

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby mickramsey » Sun Apr 04, 2010 10:15 pm

Juvenile Black-fronted Plover/Dotterel, quite common here is Oz.
Richard Schofield
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:46 pm
Location: Balclutha
Contact:

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby Richard Schofield » Mon Apr 05, 2010 9:31 pm

Black-fronted Dotterel (juvenile)
Ross Silcock
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:14 pm

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby Ross Silcock » Wed Apr 07, 2010 1:32 pm

juvenile Black-fronted Dotterel
User avatar
David Riddell
Posts: 923
Joined: Sat Jul 18, 2009 3:46 pm

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby David Riddell » Sat Apr 10, 2010 11:42 am

Looks like a young black-fronted dotterel.
User avatar
Nick Allen
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:40 pm

Re: ID Challenge #9 - closes 14 April 2010

Postby Nick Allen » Sun Apr 11, 2010 8:39 pm

Black-fronted Dotterel - a young 'un

Return to “Closed: 2009-2010 ID Quiz”