ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Christopher
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jul 09, 2009 7:39 pm
Location: Parnell, Auckland

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby Christopher » Mon May 03, 2010 8:59 pm

Fiordland crested penguin
Ross Silcock
Posts: 44
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:14 pm

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby Ross Silcock » Tue May 04, 2010 2:17 pm

juv Fiordland Penguin- gape shows some pale area
User avatar
Wynston Cooper
Posts: 56
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:35 am
Location: Invercargill

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby Wynston Cooper » Fri May 07, 2010 10:02 pm

Given that the bill appears to be quite "chunky", I'll go for Snares Crested Penguin.

Cheers
Wynston
TonyWilson
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:31 pm

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby TonyWilson » Sun May 09, 2010 5:01 pm

Juvenile, Snares Crested Penguin.
User avatar
Nick Allen
Posts: 337
Joined: Sun Jul 26, 2009 10:40 pm

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby Nick Allen » Mon May 10, 2010 9:27 pm

Snares Crested Penguin
User avatar
Shane McPherson
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 10:01 am

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby Shane McPherson » Tue May 11, 2010 8:39 am

the droopy eyebrow, and the pink flesh at base of bill:

Snares Crested Penguin
Eudyptes robustus
igor
Posts: 157
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 9:59 pm

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby igor » Thu May 13, 2010 5:42 pm

Tough one - I'll go Snares crested penguin
User avatar
philbattley
Posts: 653
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 2:21 pm

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby philbattley » Fri May 14, 2010 12:18 pm

Never seen any, so can claim the ignorance card if I am wrong...

Snares Penguin.

Phil
Richard Schofield
Posts: 174
Joined: Fri Jul 03, 2009 3:46 pm
Location: Balclutha
Contact:

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby Richard Schofield » Fri May 14, 2010 3:59 pm

The fairly obvious pink gape limits this to Macaroni, Erect-crested, Rockhopper or Snares Penguin. The crest doesn't start high enough on the forehead for Macaroni; I think the crest starts too close to the bill for Erect-crested, and is too thick (& probably short) for Rockhopper, so I'm going for Snares Penguin.
User avatar
Graham Saunders
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:53 pm

Re: ID Challenge #10 - closes 14 May 2010

Postby Graham Saunders » Fri May 14, 2010 10:39 pm

Snares Island Penguin

Return to “Closed: 2009-2010 ID Quiz”