Emus next on the NZ list?

General birdwatching discussion, help with bird identification, and all other things relating to wild birds and birding in NZ that don't fit in one of the other forums.
RussCannings

Emus next on the NZ list?

Postby RussCannings » Mon Jan 18, 2021 3:58 pm

Many will know of the Chatham Island emus. I have never been there but it sounds like there are hundreds of them living wild and it sounds like it's time to put them on the list if we can also count things like Cape Barren Goose and Mute Swan on the mainland?

I have no experience with the above population, but wanted to share some info on another group of feral Emu that roam in the East Cape area.

Last year my wife and I saw a small group SW of Tikitiki. I knew there was rumoured to be a feral population in the pastureland around East Cape, but I wasn't convinced these birds weren't associated with a domestic set-up. There was no sign of emu-fencing and they seemed rather wary despite initially being close to the highway, so I noted it down and made a mental note to follow up if possible. I kind of forgot about it for a while until I was having dinner with a hunter who lives in Gisborne a few weeks ago. He said that he regularly comes across "wild" emus in the Tikitiki area and that they are quite wary and tend to live along the river plains and gullies. He has talked to locals who cooroberate this though he wasn't sure how long they have been around other than ("for a number of years"). I'm not sure if these would be from the same population as the East Cape birds (a forest separates them), but perhaps worthy of inclusion as a 'tickable' population if Emu is indeed added to NZ's list.

Below is a map of the primary area (in yellow) where my friend tends to find the emus, and Lisa and I saw some about halfway along this area. ***While not shaded, they also occur north of SH35.
EmuEastmap.PNG
EmuEastmap.PNG (1.81 MiB) Viewed 3545 times