your help please! myna samples / info for research project

General birdwatching discussion, help with bird identification, and all other things relating to wild birds and birding in NZ that don't fit in one of the other forums.
Anna Santure

your help please! myna samples / info for research project

Postby Anna Santure » Tue Mar 13, 2018 6:13 pm

Kia ora!

My name is Anna Santure and I am a researcher at the University of Auckland. My group and I are very interested in, firstly, why common mynas ('Indian' mynas) have been such successful invaders globally, and also in understanding the establishment history of these invasive birds in New Zealand (mynas seem to have been introduced from Australia from around the 1870s onwards, but we aren't sure how many different Australian cities they were moved from). We are currently trying to obtain myna samples from across New Zealand so that we can use their genetic data to determine which populations are closely related and how mynas might be moving across the landscape.

I was wondering whether anyone in the BirdingNZ community is currently trapping myna birds, or would have some ideas of who might be in your neighbourhood? It would be just wonderful if you’d be happy to reply via this forum or directly via email (a.santure@auckland.ac.nz), we’d just love to have around 20 birds from as many locations as we can.

I've had some very generous offers from people to shoot mynas for me :) but it would be most straightforward from an animal ethics point of view if I could take mynas that were already being trapped as part of a control program, so that the use of the mynas for research was secondary. But please do get in touch if you'd be happy to help but are not currently trapping and we can discuss!